Now Is Nick Millevoi

Now Is Nick Millevoi

On June 11, 2016, Ben Remsen and Nick Millevoi spent a couple hours at Elastic Arts, in Logan Square, in Chicago, listening to music in some way related to Nick’s work.

To find out more about Nick, what he's done and what he's doing, check out

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 151 megabytes)


Intro: “Greater Mass”
Many Arms
from Suspended Definition (2014)
available from Tzadik Records

Nick Millevoi, guitar
Colin Fisher, tenor & baritone sax
Johnny DeBlase, bass
Ricardo Lagomasino, drums

Outro: “The Fire That Partially Damaged City Hall”
Nick Millevoi
from Desertion (2016)
available from Shhpuma Records

Nick Millevoi, guitar
Jamie Saft, hammond organ
Johnny DeBlase, bass
Ches Smith, drums

“Air Above Mountains (Buildings Within)” part 1
Cecil Taylor
from Air Above Mountains (Buildings Within) (1976)
originally released by Enja Records but now just available through the ether

Cecil Taylor, piano

Joe Morris
from Elsewhere (1996)
originally released by Homestead Records
but now just available through the ether

Joe Morris, guitar
Matthew Shipp, piano
William Parker, bass
Whit Dickey, drums

“Untitled Song 3”
from Touchdown/Orthrelm split (2002)
originally released by Troubleman Unlimited Records but now just available through the ether

Mick Barr, guitar
Josh Blair, drums

“Track 3”
Tetuzi Akiyama & Toshimaru Nakamura
from Semi-Impressionism (2009)
available from Nature Bliss, Inc.

Tetuzi Akiyama, guitar
Toshimaru Nakamura, no-input mixing board

Mary Halvorson & Jessica Pavone
from Departure of Reason (2011)
available from Thirsty Ear Records

Mary Halvorson, guitar
Jessica Pavone, viola

“Morning Bride”
James ‘Blood’ Ulmer
from Tales of Captain Black (1979)
originally released by Artists House Records, but now just available through the ether

Ornette Coleman, alto saxophone
James ‘Blood’ Ulmer, guitar
Jamaaladeen Tacuma, bass
Denardo Coleman, drums

“Work From Smoke”
Gastr Del Sol
from Crookt, Crackt, or Fly (1994)
available from Drag City Records

Jim O'Rourke, guitar and probably other stuff
David Grubbs, guitar and probably other stuff
Gene Coleman, bass clarinet

“Missouri Twist”
U.S. Maple
from Sang Phat Editor (1997)
available from Skingraft Records

Al Johnson, vocals
Todd Rittman, guitar
Mark Shippy, guitar
Pat Samson, drums

Neil Young & Crazy Horse
from Re-ac-tor (1981)
available through the ether

Neil Young, guitar, vocals
Frank Sampedro, guitar
Billy Talbot, bass
Ralph Molina, drums

“Don't Blame Me”
Marc Ribot
from Don't Blame Me (1995)
originally released by DIW Records
, but now only available through the ether

Marc Ribot, guitar