Now Is Matt Piet

Now Is Matt Piet

On April 23, 2018, Ben Remsen and Matt Piet spent a couple hours in the latter's living room in the Logan Square neighborhood of Chicago, listening to music in some way related to Matt's work.

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 159 megabytes)


Intro: “The Dr. Will See You Now”
Matt Piet Trio
from Of Sound Mind (2016)
available from Amalgam Music

Matt Piet, piano
Albert Wildeman, bass
Julian Kirshner, drums

Outro: “with Gerrit Hatcher, Charlie Kirchen & Julian Kirshner”
Matt Piet
from City In A Garden (2018)
available from Ears and Eyes Records

Gerrit Hatcher, tenor sax
Matt Piet, piano
Charlie Kirchen, bass
Julian Kirschner, drums

“Crossings, Fourth Movement (Pt. 1)”
Cecil Taylor
from Silent Tongues (1974)

Cecil Taylor, piano

“Willow Weep for Me”
Art Tatum
from Piano Starts Here (1949)

Art Tatum, piano

“Sweet and Lovely”
Bill Evans
from Explorations (1961)

Bill Evans, piano
Scott LaFaro, bass
Paul Motian, drums

Paul Bley
from Footloose (1963)

Paul Bley, piano
Steve Swallow, bass
Pete LaRoca, drums

“Light Blue”
Thelonious Monk
from Thelonious in Action (1958)

Johnny Griffin, tenor sax
Thelonious Monk, piano
Ahmed Abdul-Malik, bass
Roy Haynes, drums

Andrew Hill
from Change (1966)

Sam Rivers, tenor sax
Andrew Hill, piano
Walter Booker, bass
J. C. Moses, drums

““Bauhaus 3”
Schlippenbach Trio
from Bauhaus Dessau (2010)
available from Intakt Records

Evan Parker, tenor sax
Alexander von Schlippenbach, piano
Paul Lovens, drums

“Change of Season”
from Change of Season (Music of Herbie Nichols) (1984)
available from CAM Jazz

Steve Lacy, soprano sax
George Lewis, trombone
Misha Mengleberg, piano
Harjen Gorter, bass
Han Bennink, drums

“Bodies We Came Out Of”
Craig Taborn
from Light Made Lighter (2001)
available from Thirsty Ear Records

Craig Taborn, piano
Chris Lightcap, bass
Gerald Cleaver, drums

“All the Things You Are”
Kris Davis
from Aeriol Piano (2011)
available from Clean Feed Records

Kris Davis, piano

“Hobbesian's Choice”
Jim Baker
from More Questions Than Answers (2006)
available from Delmark Records

Jim Baker, piano