Now Is Mark Shippy

Now Is Mark Shippy

On September 13th, 2015, Ben Remsen and Mark Shippy spent a few hours in the latter's home in the Humboldt Park neighborhood of Chicago, listening to music in some way related to Mark's work in the bands Shorty, U.S. Maple, and Invisible Things.

To find out more about Mark's upcoming shows, check out

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 136 megabytes)


Intro: “Bumps and Guys”
U.S. Maple
from Talker (1999)
available from Drag City Records

Al Johnson, vocals
Mark Shippy, guitar
Todd Rittman, guitar
Pat Samson, drums

Outro: “Rockets”
Invisible Things
from Time AS One Axis (2015)
available from New Atlantis Records

Mark Shippy, guitar, vocals
Jim Sykes, drums

“Cardboard Cutout Sundown” and “Hey, Garland and I Dig Your Tweed Coat”
Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band
instrumentals and outtakes from Ice Cream for Crow (1982)
not commercially released, but it's on YouTube

Don Van Vliet, composition
Jeff Moris Tepper, guitar
Richard Snyder, bass
Gary Lucas, guitar
Cliff R. Martinez, drums

“Little Ants”
From the You and You / Little Ants 7-inch (1978)
Collected on DNA on DNA
available from No More Records via Forced Exposure

Arto Lindsay, guitar, vocals
Robin Crutchfield, keyboard
Ikue Mori, drums

Big Black
from Atomizer (1986) available from Touch & Go Records

Steve Albini, guitar, vocals
Santiango Durango, guitar
Dave Riley, bass

“An Open-Minded Taxidermist”
from Economy of Motion (1998)
once but no longer available from Skingraft Records

John Dieterich, Guitar
Ed Rodriguez, guitar, keyboards
Nick Sakes, guitar, vocals
Chad Popple, drums
Josh Dixon, trumpet
Jarod Russell, baritone saxophone

“Meet Me In The Space They Stare At Leaving Their Seat During A Show”
Storm & Stress
from Under Thunder and Fluorescent Lights (2000)
available from Touch & Go Records

Ian Williams, guitar, vocals
Eric Emm, bass
Kevin Shea, drums

Wayne Shorter
from Supernova (1969)

Wayne Shorter, saxophone
John McLaughlin, guitar
Sonny Sharrock, guitar
Chick Corea, drums, keyboards, vibes
Miroslav Vitouš, bass
Jack DeJohnette, drums, kalimba
Airto Moreira, percussion

“Bald Eagle Tartar Washed Down With A Cup Of Gold”
Mary Halvorson & Weasel Walter
from Opulence (2008)
available from ugEXPLODE Records

Mary Halvorson, guitar
Weasel Walter, drums

“This American Life”
Marnie Stern
from In Advance of the Broken Arm (2007)
available from Kill Rock Stars Records

Marnie Stern, vocals, guitar, keyboards
John-Reed Thompson, bass, keyboards, organ
Zach Hill, drums, bass, keyboards, piano

“Mass Hysterism 2”
Masayuki "Jojo" Takayanagi New Direction Unit
from Mass Hysterism: In Another Situation (1983)
available from Jinya Disc

Masayuki Takayanagi, guitar
Akira Iijima, guitar
Hiroshi Yamazaki, drums