Now Is Keefe Jackson

Now Is Keefe Jackson

On November 13th, 2016, Ben Remsen and Keefe Jackson spent a couple hours in the former’s living room in the Rogers Park neighborhood of Chicago, listening to music in some way related to Keefe’s work.

To find out more about Keefe, what he's done and what he's doing, check out

photo credit: Johnathan Crawford

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 138 megabytes)


Intro: “Symbol Reform”
Jackson / Berman / Strøm / Østvang
from Southern Sun (2015)
available from Stone Floor Records

Keefe Jackson, bass clarinet
Josh Berman, cornet
Jon Rune Strøm, double bass
Tollef Østvang, drums

Outro: “Swap”
Jackson / Adasiewicz
from Rows and Rows (2016)
available from Delmark Records

Keefe Jackson, bass clarinet
Jason Adasiewicz, vibraphone

“Background Music”
Lee Konitz & Warne Marsh
from The Complete Atlantic Recordings Of Lennie Tristano, Lee Konitz & Warne Marsh (1955)
available through the ether

Lee Konitz, alto saxophone
Warne Marsh, tenor saxophone
Billy Bauer, guitar
Oscar Pettiford, bass
Kenny Clarke, drums

“Red, Black & Green”
Pharoah Sanders
from Thembi (1971)
available through the ether

Pharoah Sander, tenor sax, soprano sax, bells
Michael White, violin
Lonnie Liston Smith, piano
Cecil McBee, bass
Clifford Jarvis, drums
Everyone is also credited as playing percussion

“The Prophet”
Eric Dolphy
from At the Five Spot, Vol. 1 (1961)
available through the ether

Eric Dolphy, alto sax
Booker Little, trumpet
Mal Waldron, piano
Richard Davis, bass
Ed Blackwell, drums

“Open Aspect #1.2”
Anthony Braxton
from Open Aspects Duo (1982)
once but no longer available from HatArt

Anthony Braxton, alto saxophone
Richard Teitelbaum, synthesizer, computer

“Just You Just Me”
Lester Young
from Lester Young with the Oscar Peterson Trio/Quartet (1954)
available through the ether

Lester Young, tenor saxophone
Oscar Peterson, piano
Barney Kessel, guitar
Ray Brown, bass
J. C. Heard - drums

“Lover Man”
Sonny Rollins & Coleman Hawkins
from Sunny Meets Hawk! (1963)
available through the ether

Coleman Hawkins, tenor saxophone
Sonny Rollins, tenor saxophone
Paul Bley, piano
Bob Cranshaw, bass
Roy McCurdy, drums

Jimmy Giuffre
from Free Fall (1963)
available through the ether

Jimmy Giuffre, clarinet

Alan Shorter
from Orgasm (1969)
available through the ether

Alan Shorter, flugelhorn
Gato Barbieri, tenor saxophone
Charlie Haden, bass
Rashied Ali, drums

“Gee's Bend”
Evan Parker
from Time Lapse (2006)
available from Tzadik Records

Evan Parker, saxophones

“A Story About You”
Bobby Bradford-Frode Gjerstad Quartet
from Silver Cornet (2014)
available from Nessa Records

Bobby Bradford, cornet
Frode Gjerstad, alto sax
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten, bass
Frank Rosaly, drums