On June 9th, 2018, Ben Remsen, Jaimie Branch, Fred Lonberg-Holm, and Ståle Liavik Solberg spent a couple hours in the former’s living room in the Cobbs Creek neighborhood of West Philadelphia, listening to music in some way related to the trio's work.

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 154 megabytes)


Intro & Outro:

Jaimie Branch, Fred Lonberg-Holm, and Ståle Liavik Solberg
unreleased improvisation
live at Casa Del Popolo in Montreal, June 11th 2018
recorded by Mathieu Belanger

Outro: “Symphony for Improvisors”
Don Cherry
from Symphony for Improvisors (1966)

Don Cherry, cornet
Gato Barbieri, tenor saxophone
Pharoah Sanders, tenor saxophone, piccolo
Karl Berger, vibes, piano
Henry Grimes, bass
Jean-François Jenny-Clark, bass
Ed Blackwell, drums

Art Ensemble of Chicago
from Chi-Congo (1972, rec. 1970)

Joseph Jarman, saxophones, clarinets, percussion instruments
Roscoe Mitchell, saxophones, clarinets, flute, percussion instruments
Lester Bowie, trumpet, percussion instruments
Malachi Favors Maghostut, bass, percussion instruments, vocals
Famoudou Don Moye, drums, percussion

Brötzmann / Van Hove / Bennink
from Balls (1970)

Peter Brötzmann, tenor saxophone
Fred Van Hove, piano
Han Bennink, drums and some sort of tube

Joe McPhee
from The Willisau Concert (1975)
available from Corbett vs. Dempsey Records

Joe McPhee, saxophone
John Snyder, synthesizer
Makaya Ntshoko, drums

“The Hearth”
Cecil Taylor with Evan Parker and Tristan Honsinger
from In Berlin '88 (1988)
available from Destination Out

Evan Parker, tenor saxophone
Tristan Honsinger, cello
Cecil Taylor, piano

from Clash (2008)
available for some reason only from Mats Gustafsson's bandcamp

Terrie Ex, guitar
Massimo Pupillo, bass
Paal Nilssen-Love, drums

“Go to the Store, and Dump My Feelers In It”
Michael Foster & Ben Bennett
from In It (2017)
available from Astral Spirits

Michael Foster, tenor saxophone
Ben Bennett, drums, percussion, membranophones

“White Dead”
Rempis / Morris / Reed / Baker
from Nettles (2016, rec. 2013)
available from Aerophonic Records

Dave Rempis, saxophones
Joe Morris, guitar
Tomeka Reid, cello
Jim Baker, piano