Now Is James Falzone

Now Is James Falzone

On January 13, 2016, Ben Remsen and James Falzone spent a few hours in the former's livingroom in Rogers Park, Chicago, listening to music related in some way to James's work.

To find out more about James, what he's done and what he's doing, check out

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 174 megabytes)


Intro: “Flow My Tears”
Early Music Festival
from Lachrymae (2015)
available from Allos Documents

Angela James, voice
James Falzone, B♭ clarinet & shruti box
Jason Stein, bass clarinet
Fred Lonberg-Holm, cello & electronics
Frank Rosaly, drums & electronics

Outro: “Not Seeing”
The Renga Ensemble
from The Room Is (2015)
available from Allos Documents

James Falzone, B♭ and E♭ clarinets
Ken Vandermark, B♭ clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone
Keefe Jackson, tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, contra B♭ bass clarinet
Jason Stein, bass clarinet
Ben Goldberg, B♭ clarinet, contra E♭ alto clarinet
Ned Rothenberg, B♭ clarinet, alto saxophone

“These Foolish Things (1939)”
The Benny Goodman Sextet
available in a bunch of different retroactively compiled albums via the normal digital avenues
Benny Goodman, clarinet
Charlie Christian, electric guitar
Lionel Hampton, vibraphone
Dudley Brooks, piano
Artie Bernstein, bass
Nick Fatool, drums

“Cry, Want”
Jimmy Giuffre 3
from 1961 (1961)
available from ECM Records
Jimmy Giuffre, clarinet
Paul Bley, piano
Steve Swallow, bass

Carlo Gesualdo performed by The Hilliard Ensemble
from The Hilliard Ensemble — Tenebrae (1990)
available from ECM Records

David James, countertenor
Ashley Stafford, countertenor
John Potter, tenor
Rogers Covey-Crump, tenor
Mark Padmore, tenor
Paul Hillier, baritone
David Beavan, bass

“Ghalat Hai Diwane Teri Tohmat”
Prabha Bharti
from Ghazals and Qawali, which, okay, I just ripped from YouTube and I can’t figure out where you’d get anywhere else
Prabha Bharti, vocals
no indication of who else is playing what

“Tehillim II”
Steve Reich / Alarm Will Sound
from Tehillim / The Desert Music (2002, composed 1981)
available from Bang on a Can

Clay Greenberg, conductor
Elizabeth Phillips, high soprano vocals
Akiko Fujimoto, lyric soprano vocals
Carolyn Dorey, lyric soprano vocals
Kirsten Sollek-Avella, alto vocals
Caleb Burhans, violin
Terra Peach, violin
Susanna Cortesio, violin
Luke Pomorski, cello
Sara Lukjanovs, bass
Ann Choomack, piccolo flute
Jessica Johnson, flute
Andrea Levine, clarinet
Elisabeth Stimpert, clarinet
Jeffrey L Paul II, english horn
Michael Miller, oboe
John Orfe, organ
Rob Haskins, organ
Ian Quinn, percussion
Jason Treuting, percussion
Karen Minzer, percussion

“Trois Petites Liturgies de la Présence Divine”
Olivier Messiaen / Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
from Myung-Whun Chung conducts Olivier Messiaen (2008, composed 1944)
available from Deutsche Grammophon

Myung-Whun Chung, conductor

“This Earth Feeling”
John Carter
from Mosaic Select 36: John Carter & Bobby Bradford (2010, recorded 1979)
out of print from Mosaic, but available used via the normal avenues

John Carter, clarinet

“In Memoriam: Uncle Dan”
Don Byron
from Tuskegee Experiments (1992)
available from Nonesuch Records

Don Byron, bass clarinet
Reggie Workman, bass

Toru Takemitsu / Tashi
from Toru Takemitsu: Cantos (1994, composed 1980)
readily available on the internet

Richard Stoltzman, clarinet
Ida Kafavian, violin
Fred Sherry, cello
Peter Serkin, piano
Barbara Allen, harp
Nancy Allen, harp
Richard Fitz, vibraphone
David Frost, vibraphone

“Broken Record Fugue”
Chicago Reed Quartet
from Western Automatic (2015)
available from Aerophonic Records

Ken Vandermark, bass clarinet, then baritone saxophone
Nick Mazzarella, alto saxophone
Dave Rempis, tenor saxophone, then baritone saxophone
Mars Williams, soprano saxophone, then alto saxophone