Now Is Greg Ward

Now Is Greg Ward

On January 8, 2017, Ben Remsen and Greg Ward spent a couple hours in the former's living room in the Rogers Park neighborhood of Chicago, listening to music in some way related to Greg's work.

To find out more Greg, what he's done and what he's doing, check out

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 145 megabytes)


Intro: “Daybreak”
Greg Ward & Ten Tongues
from Touch My Beloved's Thought (2016)
available from Greenleaf Music

Greg Ward, alto saxophone
Tim Haldeman, tenor saxophone
Keefe Jackson, baritone and tenor saxophones
Russ Johnson, trumpet
Ben LaMar Gay, cornet
Norman Palm, trombone
Christopher Davis, bass trombone
Jason Roebke, bass
Dennis Luxion, piano
Marcus Evans, drums

Outro: “Phonic Juggernaut”
Greg Ward's Phonic Juggernaut
from Phonic Juggernaut (2011)
available from Thirsty Ear Records

Greg Ward, alto saxophone
Joe Sanders, bass
Damion Reid, drums

Charlie Parker With Quartet And Orchestra
from The Washington Concerts (1953)
readily available through the ether

Charlie Parker, alto saxophone
Jack Holliday, piano
Franklin Skeete, bass
Max Roach, drums

“Donna Lee”
Anthony Braxton
from Donna Lee (1972)
readily available through the ether

Anthony Braxton, alto saxophone
Michael Smith, piano
Peter Warren, bass
Oliver Johnson, drums

“Beauty is a Rare Thing”
Ornette Coleman
from This is Our Music (1960)
readily available through the ether

Ornette Coleman, alto saxophone
Don Cherry, pocket trumpet
Charlie Haden, bass
Ed Blackwell, drums

“Portrait of Lorena”
Charles Rumback
from In the New Year (2015)
available from Ears & Eyes Records

Caroline Davis, alto sax
Jason Stein, bass clarinet
Jeff Parker, guitar
John Tate, bass
Charles Rumback, drums

“Duke Ellington's Sounds of Love”
Charles Mingus
from Changes One (1974)
readily available through the ether

Jack Walrath, trumpet
George Adams, tenor saxophone
Don Pullen, piano
Charles Mingus, bass
Dannie Richmond, drums

Anna Högberg
from Attack (2016)
available from Omlott Records

Anna Högberg, alto saxophone
Elin Larsson, tenor and soprano saxophone
Malin Wättring, tenor and soprano saxophone
Lisa Ullén, piano
Elsa Bergman, bass
Anna Lund, drums

“The Black Messiah”
Cannonball Adderley
from The Black Messiah (1971)
readily available through the ether

Cannonball Adderley, alto saxophone
Nat Adderley, cornet
George Duke, keys, composition
Walter Booker, bass
Roy McCurdy, drums
Airto Moreira, percussion

“Are You in Peace?”
Steve Lehman & Sélébeyone
from Sélébeyone (2016)
available from Pi Recordings

Gaston Bandimic, vocals
HPrizm, vocals
Steve Lehman, alto saxophone
Maciek Lasserre, soprano saxophone
Carlos Homs, piano, keyboards
Drew Gress, bass
Damion Reid, drums

8 Bold Souls
from Ant Farm (1994)
available from Arabesque Records

Edward Wilkerson, Jr., woodwinds
Mwata Bowden, woodwinds
Robert Griffin, trumpet
Isaiah Jackson, trombone
Aaron Dodd, tuba
Naomi Millender, cello
Harrison Bankhead, bass
Dushun Mosley, drums