Now Is Chad Taylor

Now Is Chad Taylor

On December 8th, 2017, Ben Remsen and Chad Taylor spent a few hours in the former’s living room in West Philadelphia, listening to music in some way related to Chad's work.

To find out more about Chad, what he's done and what he's doing, check out

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 184 megabytes)


Intro: “Phoenix”
Chad Taylor
from Myths and Morals (2018)
available from Ears and Eyes Records

Chad Taylor, drums

Outro: “Yaa Yaa Kole”
Chicago Underground Duo
from Locus (2014)
available from Northern Spy Records

Chad Taylor, drums, mbira, probably other stuff, composition
Rob Mazurek, cornet, probably other stuff

“St Thomas”
Sonny Rollins
from Sax Colossus (1956)

Sonny Rollins, tenor saxophone
Tommy Flanagan, piano
Doug Watkins, bass
Max Roach, drums

“Free for All”/“The Core”
from Free for All (1964)

Freddie Hubbard, trumpet
Curtis Fuller, trombone
Wayne Shorter, tenor saxophone
Cedar Walton, piano
Reggie Workman, bass
Art Blakey, drums

“Frelon Brun”
Miles Davis
from Filles de Killamanjaro (1968)

Miles Davis, trumpet
Wayne Shorter, tenor saxophone
Chick Corea, piano, RMI Electra-piano
Dave Holland, bass
Tony Williams, drums

“Roforofo Fight”
Fela Kuti
from Roforofo Fight (1972)
available from the Fela Bandcamp

Fela Kuti, tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, vocals
Tunde Williams, trumpet
Christopher Uwaifor, tenor saxophone
Lekan Animashaun, baritone saxophone
Segun Edo, guitar
Tutu Shorunmu, guitar
George Bruce, bass guitar
Tony Allen, drums
James Abayomi, percussion

Albert Ayler
from Spirits (1964)

Albert Ayler, tenor saxophone
Norman Howard, trumpet
Henry Grimes, bass
Sunny Murray, drums

“Village of the Pharoahs”
Pharoah Sanders
from Village of the Pharoahs (1973)

Pharoah Sanders, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, percussion, vocals, bells
Joe Bonner, piano, shakuhachi, flute, percussion, vocals
Calvin Hill, bass
Sedatrius Brown, vocals
Kylo Kylo, tambura, percussion
Lawrence Killian, conga, percussion, vocals
Jimmy Hopps, drums, percussion, vocals
Kenneth Nash, sakara, murdunom, percussion, whistles

Johnny Dyani
from Witchdoctor's Son (1978)

Johnny Dyani, bass
Dudu Pukwana, alto saxophone
John Tchicai, tenor and alto saxophone
Mohamed Al Jabry, congas
Alfredo Nascimento, guitar
Luiz Chuim de SIqueira, drums

“The Argument”
The Sea and Cake
from The Fawn (1997)
available from Thrill Jockey Records

Sam Prekop, vocals, guitar
Archer Prewitt, guitar, piano, vocals
Eric Claridge, bass, synthesizer
John McEntire, percussion, drums, some synthesizer

from Dots and Loops (1997)

from O (2010)
available from Thrill Jockey Records

Markus Popp, computer, drums

Rempis/Abrams/Ra + Baker
from Perehelion (2016)
available from Aerophonic Records

Dave Rempis, tenor and alto saxophone
Jim Baker, piano
Joshua Abrams, bass
Avreeayl Ra, drums

Angelica Sanchez Trio
from Float the Edge (2017)
available from Clean Feed Records

Angelica Sanchez, piano
Michael Formanek, bass
Tyshawn Sorey, drums