Now Is Matt Lux

Now Is Matt Lux

On March 25th, 2017, Ben Remsen and Matt Lux spent a couple hours in the former's living room in the Lakeview neighborhood of Chicago, listening to music in some way related to Matt's work.

To find out more about Matt, what he's done and what he's doing, check out

Subscribe to the Now Is Podcast in iTunes.


(download : 173 megabytes)


Intro: “Paw Paw”
Matt Lux's Communication Arts Quartet
from Communication Arts Quartet, forthcoming in 2017 from Astral Spirits

Ben Lamar Gay, cornet, synth/electronics
JayVe Montgomery, tenor saxophone, synth/electronics
Matt Lux, bass, synth/electronics
Mikel Patrick Avery, drums

Outro: “Harm-o-Lodge”
Isotope 217
from Who Stole the I Walkman?
available from Thrill Jockey Records

Rob Mazurek, cornet
Jeff Parker, guitar
Dan Bitney, percussion
John Herndon, percussion
Matthew Lux, bass

“What I Say”
Miles Davis
from Live/Evil (1971)

Miles Davis, electric trumpet with wah-wah
Gary Bartz, soprano sax, alto sax
John McLaughlin, electric guitar
Keith Jarrett, electric piano, organ
Michael Henderson, bass
Jack DeJohnette, drums
Airto Moreira, percussion

“Ascension” Edition II
John Coltrane
from Ascension (1965)

Freddie Hubbard, trumpet
Dewey Johnson, trumpet
Marion Brown, alto saxophone
John Tchicai, alto saxophone
John Coltrane, tenor saxophone
Pharoah Sanders, tenor saxophone
Archie Shepp, tenor saxophone
McCoy Tyner, piano
Art Davis, bass
Jimmy Garrison, bass
Elvin Jones, drums

from Air Time (1978)
available from Nessa Records

Henry Threadgill, hubkaphone, flute
Fred Hopkins, bass
Steve McCall, drums

“Song for Jesus 3/4,”
William Parker
from O'Neal's Porch (2000)
available from Aum Fidelity

Rob Brown, alto saxophone
Lewis Barnes, trumpet
William Parker, bass
Hamid Drake, drums

“Pagin' the Devil”
Lester Young
from The Kansas City Sessions (1938)

Lester Young, clarinet
Buck Clayton, trumpet
Eddie Durham, lead guitar
Freddie Green, rhythm guitar
Walter Page, bass
Jo Jones, drums

Art Tatum
from the Complete Capitol Recordings of Art Tatum (1952)

Art Tatum, piano
Everett Barksdale, guitar
Slam Stewart, bass

“Journey to the Bottom”
Monk Montgomery
from Bass Odyssey (1971)

Monk Montgomery, electric bass
Joe Sample, electric piano
Andy Simpkins, upright bass
Mike Carven, drums

“Desert Sands”
Wilbur Ware
from The Chicago Sound (1957)

Wilbur Ware, bass
Johnny Griffin, tenor saxophone
John Jenkins, alto saxophone
Junior Mance, piano
Wilbur Campbell, drums

Lee Morgan
from Last Session (1971)

Lee Morgan, trumpet
Grachan Moncur III, trombone
Bobbi Humphrey, flute
Billy Harper, tenor saxophone, alto flute
Harold Mabern, piano
Reggie Workman, bass
Jymie Merritt, electric upright bass
Freddie Waits, drums

“Pretty Brown Skin”
Roy Ayers
from Ubiquity (1971)

Roy Ayers, vibraphone, vocals
Bill Henderson, electric piano
Edwin Birdsong, organ
Richie Resnicoff, guitar
John Williams, bass
Alphonse Mouzon, drums
Jumma Santos, conga

Art Ensemble of Chicago
from Art Ensemble 1967 to 1968
once but not currently available from Nessa Records

Roscoe Mitchell, alto sax and whatever else
Joseph Jarman, tenor sax and whatever else
Lester Bowie, trumpet and whatever else
Malachi Favors, sounds like he’s on the bass the whole time
Robert Crowder, drums

“Why Don't I?”
Sonny Rollins
from Vol. 2 (1957)

Sonny Rollins, tenor saxophone
J J Johnson, trombone
Horace Silver, piano
Paul Chambers, bass
Art Blakey, drums

“Point to B”
Prefuse 73
from Vocal Studies and Uprock Narratives (2001)
available from Warp Records

Guillermo Scott Herren, electronics